Last updated: October 2026

This table puts the published specs of ten popular multimeters, from a roughly $43 AstroAI to the $580 Fluke 87V, side by side: display counts, true-RMS, CAT safety rating, current-input fusing, capacitance range and a price snapshot. Every value comes from the maker’s product page or spec sheet, or a named retailer, and blanks mean the page we checked did not state it. Where a listing shows no independent safety lab mark, we say so.

How we picked: compiled from manufacturer specifications, published prices and owner feedback patterns. We have not tested these tools ourselves. Our method.

The spec table

MeterDisplay countsTrue-RMSCAT rating (as published)Current inputs and fusingCapacitancePrice snapshot (October 2026)Safety lab mark on listing
AstroAI DM6000AR6000YesNot stated on maker pageAC/DC current listed; fuse not statedListed; range not statedabout $43 at AstroAINone stated
Klein Tools MM4204000YesCAT III 600 V10 A AC/DC; fuse not stated on page400 µFNot listed by KleinCE and UKCA listed; no UL, CSA, TÜV or ETL listed
UNI-T UT61E+22,000YesNot stated on maker pageUp to 20 A; fuse not stated220 mFabout $81 at ToolboomNone stated on maker page
UNI-T UT161E22,000YesNot stated on maker pageUp to 20 A; fuse not stated220 mFNot verifiedcETLus (plus CE, UKCA)
Brymen BM2356000YesCAT II 1 kV, CAT III 600 V (EN 61010)Six current ranges up to 10 A, protected by 1000 V HBC fusesListed; range not statedabout €106 incl. VAT at brymen.eu (listed out of stock)EN 61010 compliance stated; no lab mark listed
Fluke 101Not stated on page checkedNot statedCAT III 600 VNo current measurement50 nF to 1000 µFNot verifiedNot stated on page checked
Fluke 17B+4000Not statedCAT III 600 V400 µA to 10 A; 440 mA 1000 V and 11 A 1000 V fast fuses40 nF to 1000 µFabout $173 at FlukeNot stated on page checked
Fluke 1156000YesCAT III 600 V6 A and 10 A ranges; Fluke lists the 115 for its 11 A 1000 V fuse1000 nF to 9999 µFabout $280 at FlukeNot stated on page checked
Fluke 1176000YesCAT III 600 V (IEC 61010-2-033)6 A and 10 A ranges; 11 A 1000 V fast fuse1000 nF to 9999 µFabout $305 at FlukeIEC 61010 listed; no lab mark on page
Fluke 87V6000 (19,999 high-res)Yes1000 V CAT III, 600 V CAT IV (EN 61010-1)Up to 10 A (20 A for 30 s); Fluke lists the 87V for its 440 mA 1000 V and 11 A 1000 V fusesUp to 9,999 µFabout $580 at FlukeNot stated on page checked

How to read the blanks. “Not stated” means the specific page cited below did not list it. It does not mean the meter lacks the feature or a certification. The manual or the label on the meter may show it. Check before you buy.

What each column means

Display counts

Counts are the largest number the display can show before switching ranges. A 6000-count meter reads up to 5.999 V on its 6 V range; a 22,000-count meter reads up to 21.999 V. More counts means finer resolution in the same range. For hobby work, 4000 to 6000 counts is plenty. The 22,000-count UNI-T meters and the Fluke 87V’s 19,999-count high-resolution mode suit people who care about the last digit.

True-RMS

True-RMS meters read AC voltage and current correctly on non-sine waveforms. Brymen notes its BM235 measures true RMS for non-sinusoidal AC voltages and currents. For battery and DC board work it does not matter. It matters for AC readings on things like variable-speed drives and switching supplies.

CAT rating

CAT ratings describe the electrical environment a meter is designed to survive. Fluke summarizes the IEC 61010 categories this way:

  • CAT I: protected electronic equipment.
  • CAT II: single-phase receptacle-connected loads, such as appliances and portable tools.
  • CAT III: three-phase distribution, including single-phase commercial lighting and equipment in fixed locations.
  • CAT IV: three-phase at the utility connection, outdoor conductors, electricity meters and service entrances.

Fluke adds that a higher CAT number refers to an environment with higher power available and higher-energy transients, so a CAT III meter is designed to resist higher-energy transients than a CAT II meter.

This site covers low-voltage bench work. If you plan to measure mains circuits, that work belongs to a licensed electrician with CAT-rated gear and the meter maker’s manual. Our electrician multimeter guide explains ratings and features as published.

Safety lab marks

Fluke’s safety article says any test instrument you use should be labeled to show it has been certified by at least one independent testing agency, and names CSA, UL, TÜV and ETL/Intertek as examples of nationally recognized test labs. Without that, Fluke says, there is no way to tell if the meter offers the protection its rating claims.

In this table:

  • UNI-T UT161E is the only listing that names an independent lab mark (cETLus) on its product page.
  • Klein MM420 lists CE and UKCA. Neither is one of the independent lab marks Fluke names.
  • AstroAI DM6000AR and UNI-T UT61E+ product pages state no certification mark at all.
  • Brymen BM235 states compliance with EN 61010 but no lab mark on the pages checked.
  • The Fluke product pages checked list the IEC/EN 61010 standard and CAT rating but not a lab mark. Look at the meter’s label or manual.

If a listing shows a CAT rating but no recognized lab mark, treat the rating as the maker’s own claim.

Current inputs and fusing

A meter’s current inputs are protected by fuses. Fluke describes the high-energy fuse in a meter as what the user relies on for protection when a short happens during a current measurement, and says its sand-filled design absorbs the energy of the overload. Look for the fuse’s current and voltage rating. Fluke’s 17B+ lists 440 mA and 11 A fuses, both rated 1000 V. Brymen lists 1000 V HBC fuses on all six current ranges of the BM235.

The Fluke 101 does not measure current at all, which removes the most common way to blow a meter fuse. For checking a fuse in your own meter, see our continuity and fuse guide.

Capacitance

Capacitance ranges run from 400 µF on the Klein MM420 up to 220 mF on the UNI-T 22,000-count models. For checking typical electrolytic capacitors on boards, a few thousand microfarads is enough. See how to test a capacitor.

Picking from the table

  • Learning and hobby boards on a budget: a 6000-count true-RMS meter such as the AstroAI DM6000AR covers voltage, current, resistance, capacitance and diode test. Note the missing published CAT rating and lab mark, and keep it to low-voltage work.
  • Higher resolution for bench measurements: UNI-T UT61E+ or UT161E at 22,000 counts. The UT161E lists cETLus.
  • A long-lived name-brand meter for electronics: Fluke 17B+ includes current ranges down to 400 µA with published fuse ratings. The Fluke 101 is smaller but has no current function.
  • Electrical work: the Fluke 115, 117 and 87V publish CAT III and, for the 87V, CAT IV ratings. Pair this table with our electrician meter guide and electronics meter guide.

FAQ

What does 6000 counts mean? The display can show up to 5,999 before changing range. More counts means more resolution in each range.

Is a CAT III 600 V meter better than CAT II 1000 V? Not directly comparable. Fluke explains that the category describes the transient energy of the environment, so CAT III is designed for higher-energy transients than CAT II. The Brymen BM235 carries both ratings for different environments.

Why does the safety lab mark matter? Fluke notes that a rating without independent certification cannot be verified. A UL, CSA, TÜV or ETL mark means a lab tested the meter.

Do I need true-RMS for electronics? Not for DC work. It helps for AC readings on non-sine waveforms.

Why is the Fluke 101 cheaper than the 17B+? Among other differences, the 101 does not measure current. The 17B+ measures current from 400 µA to 10 A with two fused inputs.

Sources