Last updated: October 2026
For most hobby electronics benches, the Brymen BM235 is the best all-round multimeter: 6000 counts, true-RMS, full microamp to amp current ranges with high-breaking-capacity fuses, at about $133. If you want more resolution for precise DC and component work, the UNI-T UT61E+ reads to 22,000 counts. If you just need a reliable name-brand meter, the Fluke 17B+ sells directly from Fluke US for about $173.
How we picked: compiled from manufacturer specifications, published prices and owner feedback patterns. We have not tested these tools ourselves. Our method.
Comparison table
| Meter | Display counts | True-RMS | Capacitance | Continuity | Current | Safety rating (maker) | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brymen BM235 | 6000, 5 updates/s | Yes (AC V and AC A) | Yes (range in manual) | BeepLit (beep plus backlight flash) | Full µA, mA and A ranges, 1000 V HBC fuses | CAT II 1 kV, CAT III 600 V | about $133 (EEVblog store, October 2026) |
| UNI-T UT61E+ | 22,000 | Yes | Up to 220 mF | Yes | AC/DC up to 20 A | Not stated on product page | Not listed by UNI-T’s US store |
| Fluke 17B+ | 4000, 3 updates/s | Not listed by Fluke | 40 nF to 1000 µF | Yes | AC/DC 400 µA to 10 A | CAT III 600 V | about $173 (Fluke US, October 2026) |
| Fluke 101 | 6000 | Not listed by Fluke | 50 nF to 1000 µF | Yes, buzzer | None (no current ranges) | CAT III 600 V | Sold through regional distributors, no US list price |
| AstroAI DM6000AR | 6000 | Not stated on product page | Yes (range not stated) | Yes | AC/DC current | Not stated on product page | about $43 (AstroAI, October 2026) |
About “continuity speed”: fast continuity response matters when you drag a probe along header pins, but none of these makers publish a response time on their product pages. Brymen is the only one here that markets its continuity mode as a feature (BeepLit, which pairs the beep with a flashing backlight). Treat any specific millisecond claims you see in listings with caution unless they come from the maker’s manual.
What matters in an electronics multimeter
Display counts. Counts set resolution. A 6000-count meter shows 5.999 V on its 6 V range; a 22,000-count meter reads to 2.1999 V on its 2.2 V range, which helps when you are checking a regulator output or a voltage divider closely. For general hobby work, 4000 to 6000 counts is plenty.
True-RMS. True-RMS meters read non-sinusoidal AC (PWM-ish, distorted, or square signals) correctly. Average-responding meters are accurate on clean sine waves only. On a low-voltage bench most of your measurements are DC, so true-RMS is a nice-to-have, not essential. If you need to see the shape of a signal, you want an oscilloscope; see how to use an oscilloscope.
Current ranges. Microamp and milliamp ranges let you measure sleep current on a microcontroller board, which is common in battery projects. The Fluke 101 has no current ranges at all, which is its biggest limit for electronics.
Fuses. Current ranges are protected by fuses. High-breaking-capacity (HBC) fuses, like the 1000 V HBC fuses Brymen specifies on the BM235, are designed to interrupt a fault safely. Always replace a blown meter fuse with the exact rating in the manual, never a glass fuse from the parts bin.
Capacitance. Useful for sorting unmarked capacitors. Fluke’s ranges top out at 1000 µF; the UT61E+ goes far higher. See how to test a capacitor with a multimeter and discharge capacitors before you measure them.
Safety ratings. CAT ratings describe how much transient energy a meter is designed to withstand on electrical installations. For battery and bench-supply circuits you will not be near those limits, but a published rating from a recognized standard is a sign the maker designed the input protection seriously. If a listing shows no rating or no recognized certification mark, that is worth noting. For mains work, see our separate multimeter guide for electricians and leave live-circuit measurements to qualified people.
Picks by use case
Best overall for hobby electronics: Brymen BM235
Brymen’s product page lists a 6000-count display updating 5 times per second, true-RMS on AC voltage and AC current, full µA, mA and A ranges protected by 1000 V HBC fuses, Type-K temperature, Max/Min/Avg recording, and a LoZ mode. Its stated safety ratings are CAT II 1 kV and CAT III 600 V to EN61010-1/-2-030/-2-033.
The EEVblog-branded version sells for about $133 from the EEVblog store and ships with silicone test leads and a K-type thermocouple.
Why pick it: the combination of µA ranges, proper fusing and fast update rate covers almost everything a microcontroller or analog hobbyist measures.
Trade-off: 6000 counts, not a high-resolution bench meter. Capacitance ranges are in the manual, not on the product page.
Best for resolution: UNI-T UT61E+
UNI-T lists the UT61E+ at 22,000 counts with true-RMS, capacitance up to 220 mF, frequency up to 220 MHz, AC/DC current to 20 A, and a basic DC voltage accuracy of ±(0.05% + 5). It adds USB communication for logging to a PC.
Why pick it: if you calibrate sensors, trim voltage references or compare resistor values closely, the extra digits are useful.
Trade-off: UNI-T’s own US store did not list the UT61E+ at the time of writing, so you will be buying from a third-party seller. UNI-T’s product page does not state a CAT rating in its spec table, so check the manual and the meter’s markings.
Best name brand: Fluke 17B+
Fluke US sells the 17B+ for about $173 with a 4000-count display (3 updates per second), capacitance from 40 nF to 1000 µF, temperature with an included Type-K thermocouple, diode test, and AC/DC current ranges from 400 µA up to 10 A. Fluke rates it CAT III 600 V.
Why pick it: Fluke’s reputation, warranty and support, plus µA current ranges for electronics.
Trade-off: Fluke’s product page does not list it as true-RMS, and it has a lower count than the Brymen at a higher price.
Best compact meter without current: Fluke 101
Fluke’s spec sheet for the 101 lists a 6000-count display, capacitance from 50 nF to 1000 µF, frequency, duty cycle, and a diode and continuity test with buzzer, in a small 130 x 65 x 27 mm body rated CAT III 600 V. It does not measure current.
Why pick it: a pocketable, durable second meter for continuity, voltage and component checks.
Trade-off: no current ranges, and Fluke sells it through regional distributors rather than its US store. US listings are typically imports, so check the seller.
Best budget: AstroAI DM6000AR
AstroAI sells the DM6000AR for about $43. Its product page lists 6000 counts, manual and auto ranging, AC/DC voltage (750 V AC / 1000 V DC), AC/DC current, resistance, continuity, capacitance, frequency, diode and temperature.
Why pick it: the lowest price here with a full feature list for learning.
Trade-off: AstroAI’s product page does not state a CAT rating, a certification mark, or whether the meter is true-RMS. For low-voltage hobby work that is acceptable; for anything beyond that, choose a meter with a published rating. Customer reviews on AstroAI’s own product page lean positive on ease of use, which fits its role as a starter meter.
Accessories worth adding
Stock test leads are often stiff. Silicone leads with alligator clips free a hand while you probe a board, which reduces slips that short adjacent pins. If you are new to meters, start with how to use a multimeter and testing continuity, fuses and diodes. For a broader list of meters with ratings and fusing, see our multimeter spec table.
FAQ
Do I need a true-RMS multimeter for electronics? Not for most hobby work, which is mostly DC. True-RMS helps if you measure non-sinusoidal AC, like a PWM motor drive or a distorted signal. For seeing waveforms, an oscilloscope is the right tool.
How many counts do I need? 4000 to 6000 counts handles nearly all hobby measurements. Pick 20,000 or more if you work with precision references, sensors or close resistor matching.
Can a cheap multimeter measure microamps? Many can, but check the spec sheet for a µA range and its fuse rating. The Fluke 101 has no current ranges at all.
Is a Fluke worth it for hobby electronics? It depends on budget. The Fluke 17B+ costs more than the Brymen BM235 and has fewer counts, but you get Fluke’s support and warranty. For pure bench electronics, the Brymen offers more meter for the money on paper.
Which multimeter is safest? Look for a CAT rating published by the maker and a recognized certification mark, plus properly rated current fuses. Measuring household wiring is a job for a licensed electrician with a meter rated for it.
Sources
- Brymen BM235 product page: https://www.brymen.com/PD02BM230_235.html
- EEVblog store, EEVblog BM235 (price, contents): https://eevblog.store/products/eevblog-bm235-multimeter
- UNI-T UT61+ series product page: https://meters.uni-trend.com/product/ut61plus-series/
- UNI-T US store catalog: https://uni-trendus.com/
- Fluke 17B+ product page (US): https://www.fluke.com/en-us/product/electrical-testing/digital-multimeters/fluke-17b-plus
- Fluke 101 product page: https://www.fluke.com/en-id/product/electrical-testing/digital-multimeters/fluke-101
- AstroAI DM6000AR product page: https://www.astroai.com/astroai-digital-multimeter-trms-6000-counts/ap/100019